University Partnerships

University Partnerships

Includes: Illinois Articulation Initiative, University Transfer Agreements, 3+1 Agreements, University 2 + 2 Agreements, University Dual Admission Programs, University Degree Completion Programs, University Transfer Curriculum Guides, Reverse Transfer

Illinois Articulation Initiative (IAI)

Danville Area Community College is a participant in the Illinois Articulation Initiative (IAI), a statewide agreement that allows transfer of the completed Illinois General Education Core Curriculum between participating institutions. Completion of the transferable General Education Core Curriculum at any participating college or university in Illinois assures transferring students that lower-division general education requirements for an associate or bachelor’s degree have been satisfied. This agreement is in effect for students entering an associate or baccalaureate degree-granting institution as a first-time freshman in summer 1998 (and thereafter). More information about the Illinois Articulation Initiative is available online at

University Transfer Agreements

Danville Area Community College has agreements in place with many four-year colleges and universities to facilitate the transfer of credits for students who intend to complete a bachelor’s degree. Associate in Science (AS), Associate Arts (AA), Associate in Engineering Science (AES) Associate in Fine Arts in Art (AFA) and Associate in Fine Arts in Art Education (AFAE) degree students who choose a course of study and transfer institution with the approval of an academic counselor, using established curriculum guidelines, may expect to complete a Bachelor’s degree in a timely fashion. If there is a major/school anywhere in the United States that does not have a prescribed transfer plan, one can be developed for the student working in concert with a DACC advisor and the transfer school of choice.

A partial list of participating area universities includes:

  • Bradley University
  • Chamberlain College of Nursing
  • Eastern Illinois University
  • Franklin University
  • Grand Canyon University
  • Illinois State University
  • Indiana State University
  • Indiana Wesleyan University
  • Northern Illinois University
  • Olivet Nazarene University
  • Purdue University
  • Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
  • Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Illinois at Springfield
  • University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign
  • Western Illinois University

This is not a complete listing of four-year colleges and universities to which a student may transfer from DACC.

Reverse Transfer

Danville Area Community College has established a Reverse Transfer Agreement with Eastern Illinois University (EIU). This agreement allows the awarding of an Associate Degree to transfer students, who transferred prior to completing the Associate Degree, but complete the requirements of the Associate Degree while pursuing a Bachelor Degree at EIU.